These Are a Few Of My Favorite Things!

I am a girl of highly varied interests, ranging from crafting to music to writing to movies. So I have decided that once a week I will post on something I love to do, read, watch, or listen, and tell y’all about why I love it. This week, I chose “The Avengers”, a fandom that I only just entered into a few months ago.

In the months leading up to my 16th birthday in August, I had heard an awful lot about these strange movies centering around these superheroes. These superheroes were called “The Avengers”. The only superhero movie I had ever seen and loved was the “Spiderman” movie and it’s sequels. I hated Batman and Superman after giving them a try however, and decided that most superhero movies must be boring. But as I heard more and more about these Avengers, I wondered if perhaps I should give them a try. When a friend who came to my birthday party said: “You HAVE to watch Thor!”, I decided to give it a try. I was impressed. “Thor” was entertaining and definitely worth my time, and Thor was the sweetest superhero ever. And I never expected to be in love with Loki by the end of the movie! I now understood why so many people loved his character. I swiftly moved on to the Avengers, which was even better. Every one of the heroes in the movie just made me happy. I can only dream of having the skill with sarcasm that Tony Stark does, and Captain America’s patriotic way of thinking was a wonderful tribute to the soldiers. Black Widow and Hawkeye turned out to be my favorites, and I quickly came to love the quiet and sad Bruce Banner, and his alter ego, the Hulk. Thor as usual was completely lovable, and Loki was even more heartbreaking. By the end of the movie I was determined too see more. I watched Captain America, which has earned the distinction of being the first superhero movie to make me bawl like a baby. The story was beautiful.

Fast forward to November, where we finally saw Thor: The Dark World. I was a bit shocked by the stronger language in the film, but outside of that found it to be even better than the first. I cried so hard so many times during the movie, and the ending left me reeling. What will happen next? We will have to wait a while, as the next Avengers film to be released is Captain America: The Winter Soldier, coming in April. If you have never seen the Avengers films, I encourage you to take the time to watch them. No, I have not seen Iron Man, though I think I might someday. I have not seen The Incredible Hulk either, and have no plans to any time soon. But I can say for sure that The Avengers are certainly the best superhero films ever made, and the second best movies ever after Lord of the Rings!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beth Passburg
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 15:46:37

    Awesome!! Wonderfully written. πŸ˜€ And I just adore the whole Avengers universe. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

