Being Homeschooled – The Myths

I am a proud homeschooler, who is often made to feel less proud by silly myths and the stigma that being homeschooled creates. A lot of people think of homeschoolers as uneducated rednecks, friendless weirdos, or nerds(the bad kind of nerd). Well, I have decided to do my best to disprove those myths and tell you what the average homeschooler is NOT!

1: We are NOT friendless. Are there homeschoolers who are shy and have trouble making friends? Yes. Does that mean that we are all friendless and have no social life? Absolutely not! Sure, we may not see as many people every day as a public schooled kid would, but we do have social lives. I go to church, 4-H, and multiple camps in the summer. I am friends with several people on the internet, but I have several very close friends in real life.

2: We are NOT rednecks. I don’t even know where this stereotype comes from. Duck Dynasty maybe? I wouldn’t know since I don’t watch it. Anyway, it doesn’t matter, because it is wrong. Yes, there are rednecks who are homeschooled, but that doesn’t make all of us that way. We don’t live in the backwoods, we don’t go hunting for all of our food, and we, again, are not cut off from society.

3: We are NOT pretentious nerds. There are good nerds who love Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, and Doctor Who. Many homeschoolers are that. Then there are bad nerds. Those nerds are the ones who excel at school and have a big head about it. They might love all of the cool nerdy things, but act like that somehow elevates them. Most homeschoolers are NOT that at all. Yes, I know one or two who are like that, but most of us are just average nerds. ๐Ÿ˜€

4: We are NOT a bunch of conspiracy theorists. Do many of us see through political and social happenings before the average person does? Yes. Do we see everything the government does as a conspiracy? No. We are more likely to investigate things, and less likely to take things at face value. But that isn’t being a conspiracy theorist, that is being educated and making decisions based off of what you know, instead of what you are told to believe.

I might post on this issue again. I just wanted to dispel a few of the many myths revolving around homeschoolers. What sort of things have you heard about homeschoolers? And if you are homeschooled, which myths make you the most angry?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Taylor
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 11:40:32

    Great topic! I’m not homeschooled, but I have heard a few of these things, and I was homeschooled when I was younger. Love your blog, by the way! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

  2. Beth Passburg
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 14:18:41

    YES to everything!! And this post totally made me think of this video… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJHt-m3VX6o ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    Reply

  3. thatfeministhomeschooler
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 22:03:52

    The myth that probably makes me the angriest is probably the one revolving around socialization. Like, I don’t even have the energy to debate that one anymore. *collapses*

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

