Fandoms I am Not a Part of

So I know that everyone pretty much thinks that being a nerd/fangirl automatically makes you a Tolkienite, Twihard, Potterhead, Trekkie, Whovian, and everything in between, but that is simply not true. There are many fandoms that I choose not to be a part of, for different reasons, many of them morally based. I get so many people asking why I choose not to get into certain fandoms, so here is the list of fandoms I am not in, and why I choose not to be in them.

1. Twilight – It’s kind of a no brainer if you know me personally. I am a bit of a hopeless romantic, but not that much. I have read bits and pieces of the first book for a report I wrote on why I don’t read the series, and not only was it ridiculously cheesy, it was just plain badly written. (don’t kill me Twihards) My other reason is that of moral standard. Do you really think the behavior modeled by Bella is behavior for Christian young women to be modelling? Or that the relationship between her and Edward is an appropriate one? I know enough about the movies to say that the sexual content is disturbing, considering there are 13 year old girls who watch the films.

2. Harry Potter – *readers collectively gasp* I know… I know. I should be ashamed of myself for not reading the “glorious” tale by J.K. Rowling. But I’m not. I am actually fine with it. I know it is a well written book that some compare to Lord of the Rings, but the way magic is portrayed is at best disturbing. Once Upon a Time is the most I was able to handle in terms of magic usage, and being that it was a “fairy-tale”, I was able to accept it a little bit more. I guess it is hard to explain, but there are many things in Harry Potter that cause me to veer away from this particular fandom.

3. Star Trek – *readers collectively pass out* Yes, it is possible to be a nerd without being a Trekkie. My reason is actually pretty simple in terms of this fandom: I’m just not interested. Sure, it sounds alright, but not really like my cup of tea. Perhaps someday I will watch it, but at this point I don’t really want to.

4. Sherlock – *readers declare that I cannot possibly be a real nerd* I love three BBC shows, and Sherlock isn’t one of them. I haven’t seen it yet, though my sister has and swears it is the best thing ever. To be honest, it just doesn’t necessarily sound like something I would enjoy, and there is some stuff I know about that bothers me about the show. Like Star Trek, this is another one of those “perhaps someday” shows that I choose not to watch at this time.

Are there others? Yes, but I don’t know enough about them to say why I don’t get into them. Divergent is one I have considered reading, but I need to do some more reading before I decide whether it is something I want to get into. And even though I am not a part of these fandoms, I still love my fellow fangirls (and boys). On #FANDOMPOCALYPSE day, I will love you and treat you like you are the awesomest person ever, even if I hate Twilight! XD

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heavenvision7
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 15:54:41

    I am with you on almost all of this! Except that I adore Sherlock, but we’ve all got our differences…this is thespiritualwarrior7, by the way, and I like your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. thatfeministhomeschooler
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 21:45:10

    Yeah, Edward is just insanely creepy. Who would even want a boyfriend like that? xD

    I’m with you on everything except for Sherlock because, holy moly, woman, MORIARTY. (Okay sorry, his voice is kind of…umm….cute to me? IDK. >.> <.<)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

