Awesome Weekend with Nerds

This past weekend I attended Georgia 4-H Southeast District Project Achievement with a group of 4-Hers from my county. I am pleased to announce that I placed second in my category, with my speech on writing a novel, and that I will be going to State Congress this summer. Among this group of 4-Hers were a few nerds, much like myself. There was one who has even self published a novel! Some hilarious things resulted from this group of nerds being together.

1. Nerds and British… Those words sound really nice together, and apparently one of my fellow 4Hers agreed. He spent a greater part of the first day trying to convince everyone that he was British, and he did very well! He has a great British accent.

2. Underground Doctor Who fandom… Apparently Doctor Who has a great underground network. People pop up all the time, perfect strangers, who love Doctor Who. A notable incident among many this weekend? I and several others were leaving the dining hall, and I and another 4Her were discussing how there should be an episode where The Doctor goes to Middle Earth. A guy whom I had never met was walking in front of us and suddenly turned around and asked: “Did you say something about THE DOCTOR?”

3. Middle Earth friends… In my category, one of the judges was apparently a Tolkien fan, as on one of my comment cards she said that The Hobbit is a great movie. She probably noticed my many references to Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit in both my speech and portfolio.

4. I met several fellow authors, two of them in my category giving speeches on writing novels. It was an awesome experience being with so many people like me!

I almost wish that #FANDOMPOCALYPSE Day had been this past weekend. Can you imagine how many nerds would have come out of the woodwork if it had been?

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

