Thought for the Day – Perseverance

Hey everyone! Sorry that I haven’t posted the last couple of days! I have been sick with the stomach bug and felt pretty miserable.

I have been participating in something called Camp NaNoWriMo this past month. It is a more relaxed version of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in November, which is basically an event where you try to write a novel in a month. Anyway, it can get rough. There are a lot of times when I just want to give up on whatever I happen to be writing at the time, usually because I have writer’s block, my story just isn’t going well, or I am struggling to connect with a character. Then I remember perseverance. That I should give it my all and do my best. And somehow, it helps me do better than I ever thought I could. This applies to many areas of our everyday lives. We often give up when the going gets tough, forgetting that the reward at the end will make the work worth it. In school, in sports, in friendships, in life, we often forget just how important perseverance is. But the Bible calls us to persevere, to complete the tasks we are given, because we are given those tasks for a reason. Sure, we might not see the big picture, but we can be sure that God does. The Bible also says that we should be faithful in everything, both the little things and the big things. So next time you want to give up on something because it is getting hard, remember that your perseverance will pay off in the end.

“Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.” James 1:12

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

