My Thoughts on the “Once Upon a Time” Season Finale – Part One

So last night, the final episode of the third season of Once Upon a Time aired, sending the fandom into a frenzy. This was the first two hour episode to be aired, but I believe it was a good movie to make the finale a bit longer. The entire thing was an emotional roller coaster; joy, sadness, true love’s feels, and a myriad of other emotions took a huge toll on me! So here are my thoughts on the episode, and some questions I am left with.

I loved every minute of the first hour, from the touching scenes of the Charmings together, to the sweet moments of Rumbelle, to the party at Granny’s. But it was overshadowed by Emma’s desire to return to New York, which Henry and Regina were finally made aware of. When Emma runs out of Granny’s, obviously upset, I loved that it was Hook who went to talk to her, without any argument from the Charmings. The following conversation was touching and revealed just how scarred Emma is by her past.

When Emma was pulled into the time portal, I gave a loud cheer as Hook willingly went in after her, and laughed aloud as he said, “Someday I am going to stop running after this woman!” When it is revealed that they ended up in the Enchanted Forest right before Snow and Charming’s first meeting, I began to grow very nervous. Hook and Emma are both very concerned about accidentally messing up the future… a few minutes later they have ruined her parent’s first meeting, essentially ruining the future. The story becomes very “wibbley-wobbly and timey-wimey” as Emma and Hook race against time to fix what they have messed up, which requires help from a certain Rumplestiltskin.

I freaked out for the greater part of the first hour, unsure of what was going to happen to Emma if her parents did not meet each other. And then there was the question of who this young woman that Regina held captive was. I felt like I had seen her before, but could not place who she was, but more on that in part two.

Several familiar characters returned, including Red, Abigail, and Blue. I was especially excited to see Red return! I was howling with laughter as Hook and Emma worked out their plan to get Snow and Charming to meet, as Emma met Hook from the past. The best part was Hook knocking himself out. The way the episode “ended” was a cliffhanger, as Emma was captured by the Evil Queen and Hook decides to go after her.

Part two will be coming, as well as some pictures!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

