Thought for the Day – Being You

In the society we live in, there are so many people around us who tell us to be ourselves, while in the same breath saying that we should also do our best to fit in. We are told to have the coolest clothes, watch only the most popular movies, and listen to only the neatest music. It seems that individuality has gone out the window, even among Christians. A question that I have asked myself many times through the years is this: Who am I? Where does my identity come from? I never wanted to conform to what everyone else was doing, but I also wanted to belong. It was a dilemma I dealt with for a long time until I suddenly came to a startling realization. My identity comes not from what I wear, watch, or listen to. Not from my outward appearance or if guys like me. My identity comes from the One who made me, God. The Bible speaks so many times of a Christian’s identity in Christ, the fact that we are set apart with a purpose and a plan. When we come to the place in our lives where we can be happy with that, we can truly begin to seek God’s purpose for us. So as you go through the everyday grind of life, never forget that you are who you are, and that God created you that way for a purpose. You should never change yourself in order to conform to the world’s way of thinking.

“For it was you who created my inward parts; You knit me together in my mother’s womb. I will praise you because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made. Your works are wonderful, and I know this very well. My bones were not hidden from You when I was made in secret, when I was formed in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw me when I was formless; all my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began.” Psalm 139:13-16

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beth P.
    May 22, 2014 @ 10:55:05

    Amen!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

