End of Summer Thoughts, and Announcements!!

https://i0.wp.com/uptowngirl.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/summer1.jpg

Hey everyone! Well, summer is finally winding down, the relaxing days of no school and lots of traveling are swiftly coming to an end. Over the summer, I have not done a great job of posting regularly, but over the last several months I have definitely enjoyed doing this blog, and seeing how many people take the time to read it.

This summer has been CRAZY. It seemed like I barely had any time to think until the beginning of this month. With VBS, All State, volunteering at a local summer camp, a music conference, a 4-H competition, and a vacation to Mississippi, it felt like I was constantly unpacking and repacking my suitcase and heading off somewhere. Despite the craziness of this summer, I have had so many experiences and met so many wonderful people that I will treasure forever! Here are a few:

1. VBS: Volunteering at VBS has become a big part of my summer, and I was so blessed to work with a wonderful group of third graders this year. The theme was “Agency D3”, which meant lots of fun secret agent stuff for the kids AND the leaders. I remember crying on Wednesday of VBS, as I watched several kids from the class walk forward and make decisions to accept Jesus as their Savior.

2. Georgia Baptist All State: This was my very first time at All State, so it was definitely an exciting experience. We traveled to Baltimore and Washington D.C. to do missions work in many different ways. We performed at the local churches, painted, hosted block parties, did a concert at Inner Harbor, sang at the World War 2 Memorial, and even sang the Star Spangled Banner at Fort McHenry, where the song was written. I saw so many amazing things take place on the trip, and could definitely see God working through each person on the trip. I also made some pretty amazing friends. All State was for sure a highlight of my summer.

3. Local Summer Camp. Ever since I was little, there has been a summer camp in my area. It isn’t huge, and most people don’t even realize it goes on, but it has been making an impact on kids for years! (I’m not putting the name simply for safety reasons). This was my first time helping out at the portion of the camp for 4th-6th graders, and it is one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Many of the children came from troubled homes, and many were not from Christian backgrounds. Over the course of the week, almost 100 campers were reached with love of Christ, and many made decisions, either to accept Jesus into their hearts, get baptized, or rededicate their lives to Christ. I cried the last night of camp as I prayed with several campers who had become so special to me throughout the camp.

4. Georgia 4H State Congress. While this one wasn’t an event for Christians or anything, it was still an experience I will never forget. This was the state level of a 4-H competition, where the highest from each of the four districts in Georgia go to compete. While I didn’t place in my category at the event, I still made a few cool new friends, and finally got to try the Cheesecake factory for myself! 😀 I also got to wear a formal dress for the first time EVER to a fancy banquet, and busted a few moves at the late night dance party.

And while all these things have been fun, I think the best thing is seeing how God worked in my life, and in lives of others through me. I was inspired by the things I saw, encouraged by the people I met, and uplifted by the experiences I had. This has been the best summer of my life so far, and I can’t wait to see what is in store for the rest of this year!

One last thing: So you might notice that the title of this blog changed. I decided I liked this title better, and definitely thought it fit better! And another big announcement: I will start regularly reviewing books on this blog. And hopefully a video blog(If I ever get the time). And I want to start doing reviews of TV shows and movies more regularly. I guess what I am saying is that there are going to be some amazing things happening on this blog in the future! Can’t wait to see what God has in store!

 

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

