Countdown to Once Upon a Time – Belle

Once Upon a Time returns on September 28, and as I eagerly await that date, I have figured out a way to help pass the time! Every day I will do an analysis of each character, talking about various things. Each post will follow the same general format, and tonight I have chosen one of my all time favorites, Belle.

https://i0.wp.com/img1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20140205195632/storywikmaine/images/5/53/Belle.png

Name: Belle French

Characteristics: Kind, gentle, lover of books, sees the best in others.

Why do I like this character?: I have always loved Beauty and the Beast because I was able to relate to Belle in so many ways. After seeing the brilliant portrayal of her character on OUAT, I love her even more. While some complain that Belle has no character outside of her relationship with Rumplestilskin, I find that the true depth of her character is revealed when she is with him. The way she looks past the flaws and sees the man that Rumple is, loving him for it, is one of the most endearing aspects of her character. She went through so much in her life, and yet remains strong and resilient, and she is not afraid to stand up for what she loves and what she believes in, and many times those are one and the same.

Why do I dislike this character?: I can think of very few reasons to dislike Belle, one of those being this: She loves Rumple dearly, almost to a fault. And I am afraid that we will see the repercussions of this in the next season, as Rumple is hiding a pretty big secret from her.

Favorite lines from character: “I learned a long time ago, that when you find something worth fighting for, you never give up.”

“I never really cared much for Gaston. To me, love is- love is layered. Love is a mystery to be uncovered. I could never truly give my heart to someone as superficial as he.”

“Rumplestiltskin, this thing we have, it’s never been easy. I’ve lost you so many times. I’ve lost you to darkness, to weakness, and finally, to death. But now I realize, I realize that I have not spent my life losing you. I’ve spent my life finding you.”

Other thoughts: I remember crying and squealing and overall going crazy at so many points of Belle and Rumple’s story, as well as shouting at the screen on numerous occasions. I am interested to see what happens now that they are married, especially since Rumple is hiding youknowwhat from her.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

