Countdown to Once Upon a Time – Rumplestiltskin/Mr. Gold

https://i2.wp.com/img4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130226201618/onceuponatime8042/images/4/4a/106Rumple1.jpg

 

When I first began watching OUAT, one of the characters I was the most interested in seeing was Rumplestiltskin, better known as Rumple to viewers and to his lady love, Belle. Going by the name of “Mr. Gold” in Storybrooke, Rumple is a true enigma, and one of the best anti-hero and sometimes villain/hero ever created. Played with charm, wit, and fun by Robert Carlyle, he has become one of the shows most loved characters!

Name(s): Rumplestiltskin, Mr. Gold, Rumple, Dark One.

Characteristics: Witty, devious, sometimes selfish, likes making deals with people, a bit of a coward at times.

Why do I like this character?: How is one to describe how much you like Rumplestiltskin? 😀 To start, his backstory. One of the most heartbreaking stories of the show, Rumple’s life is a sad story, as Gandalf might say. Abandoned by his father in exchange for eternal youth (and fantastic eyebrows), Rumple was raised by a pair of spinsters. Later marrying Milah, he went to fight in the Ogre Wars with pride, refusing to be a coward like his father. But before a battle, he met a seer, who prophesied that his actions on the battlefield would leave his unborn child fatherless. Thus, Rumple injures himself so that he can go home, but is greeted by a bitter Milah, who (rightfully) calls him a coward. They raise their son, but their relationship is never the same. Sad, right? And that’s only part of it. He loses his son to his own cowardice, and his wife, later killing her in rage. He devotes his life to finding his son, eventually creating the curse that creates Storybrooke. He falls in love, only to lose her to his selfishness. I guess what makes me like Rumple in all of this is that he truly regrets the things he did, letting go of his son, killing his wife. His story makes me cry, because at his heart, all Rumple wants is to be loved. He loses everything that is important to him. I also enjoy his witty one liners, which are some of the best in the show, and his personality. While he can be a bit weird at first, as the show goes on you can’t help but love him.

Why do I dislike this character?: Obviously, he has a habit of being selfish, though he is learning to put it aside more and more as the show goes on. And I was sooooo mad at him in the season 3 finale for lying to Belle and doing exactly WHAT HE PROMISED HER HE WOULDN’T DO!!!!!!! Since he is an anti-hero, inconsistency is to be expected, but throughout the first season I got SO frustrated. He was constantly “shifting loyalties”, though it becomes obvious that he only helps the people he does because it furthers his own cause.

Favorite quotes (there are a LOT this time, had trouble choosing just a few): “I’m not walking in there with nothing but my good looks.”

Charming: “You loved someone?” Rumple: “It was a brief flicker of light amidst an ocean of darkness.”

“So brave, so gallant, so pointless. Bravery won’t get you out of this forest dearie!”

David: “If anything happens to them…” Mr. Gold: “Then you’ll what? Cross the town line and David Nolan will hunt me down in his animal rescue van?”

“All magic comes with a price!”

“The place was filthy.”

“So long as you live in the past, you’ll never find your future.”

“When they say I charge an arm and a leg, that’s meant to be a figure of speech.”

And the best of them all (I cry EVERY TIME): “Belle, when we met, I wasn’t just unloved, and unloving, I was an enemy of love. Love had only brought me pain. My walls were up, but you broke them down. You brought me home. You brought light to my life and chased away all the darkness. And I vow to you, I will never forget the distance between what I was and what I am. I owe more to you than I can ever say. How you can see the man behind the monster, I will never know.”

Other thoughts: I am interested in seeing how Rumple handles married life, and how long he will be able to keep his secret. I am also worried though, because it appears that Rumple and Hook will start up their old rivalry again, so there is always a chance that Hook could die (NOOOOOOOOO). But I am thrilled as well, because we have been told by producers that Henry will begin bonding with Rumple, even getting a job at the pawnshop. (I have a feeling it is going to be adorable).

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

