Countdown to Once Upon a Time – Prince Charming/David

PrinceCharming1

Snow White’s prince, and Emma’s father, Charming is a courageous, loving soul who will go to any lengths to save those he loves, even giving up his own heart. Known in Storybrooke as David Nolan, he goes through many terrible things before getting a somewhat happy ending. Waking up from a coma to a “wife” he does not remember, falling in love with another woman, being accused of murder then finding out that the woman you love is a suspect? Yup. He is character truly deserving of a “happily ever after”.

Name(s): Prince Charming, James, David Nolan.

Characteristics: Brave, a little insecure at times, loyal, loving, strong, willing to do the right thing.

Why do I like this character?: What girl doesn’t like a Prince Charming? Not only is David courageous, chivalrous, loyal, and kind, he also happens to be a bit attractive as well! But neither is he perfect. Charming has faults just like anyone else, and he knows this. I love seeing the relationship between him and Mary Margaret, one that is built on trust, even though David makes a mistake and keeps something from her. And I will never forget the moment, right after the curse was broken, when he truly saw Emma for the first time, and with tears in his eyes, took her into his arms. I was crying with joy and happy feels. It is so hard to describe why he is an incredible character, but maybe I have done him justice?

Why do I dislike this character?: Um….Uh….I guess that he kept a secret from Snow that almost destroyed their relationship? I definitely wanted to hit him with a shoe. And I also hate how suspicious he is of Hook at times. Hook has proven over and over again that he would do anything to protect Emma. WHY CAN’T YOU GET THAT THROUGH YOUR THICK SKULL DUDE????

Favorite Quotes: (most iconic first) “I will find you!… I will always find you!”

“It’s impressive that we can still provide her a few traumatic childhood experiences at this stage of the game.”

“Here, in case your good looks fail you.”

(And a tear jerker) Snow: “I have loved you since the first moment I saw you…” Charming: “And I’ll love you ’til my last.” *SO MANY FEELS* 😥

“Look, I get wanting to leave here, I do. And I get that it’s easier to let go of bad memories, but… even bad memories are part of us. David, Storybrooke David, was- is… weak… confused. And he hurt the woman I love. I wouldn’t give up being Charming just to be him. But you know what? I wouldn’t make the other trade either. Because that David reminds me not only of whom I lost… but of who I want to be. My weaknesses and my strengths, David and the Prince, I am both. Just like you. You are both. The town is both. We are both.”

Other thoughts: I think it is too cute that the actors who play Snow and Charming are married and have a baby in real life! 🙂 I am so excited to see Charming FINALLY get to be a father, and to hopefully see more of his relationship with Emma!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

