Countdown to Once Upon a Time – Leroy/Grumpy

With his great sense of humor, and soft heart hidden under a grouchy exterior, Grumpy, or Leroy as he is known is Storybrooke, is the dwarf that we see the most of throughout the series. In the Enchanted Forest, he and the other dwarves take in Snow after she rescues Grumpy and another dwarf, Stealthy, from the dungeons of King George. Stealthy dies, but Grumpy is grateful to Snow, and they befriend her and help her try to move on with her life after she loses Charming. Grumpy plays a key part throughout Snow’s story, even during the curse, when he befriends Mary Margaret when everyone else in the town shuns her. A loyal friend and hidden softie, Grumpy is one of the show’s best characters.

Name(s): Grumpy, Leroy

Characteristics: Snarky, a bit grouchy (hence the name), hidden soft spot, strong leader, cares a lot about Snow and Charming.

Why do I like this character?: Leroy is such a fun character, both in Storybrooke and the Enchanted Forest. His humor tends to lighten even the darkest situation, and his snarky attitudes towards certain characters have a tendency to come at both the worst and best times. His loyalty to Snow and Charming is also admirable, especially when he first meets Charming. He and the other dwarves are immediately suspicious of Charming, but only because they care about Snow and want to make sure that he is right for her. In the third season, Leroy helps Emma keep a close watch on Henry, taking care of him even when Henry can’t remember any of them.

Why do I dislike this character?: Uh… I guess a few of his one liners do get ruined by a cuss word or two? I honestly can’t think of much I don’t like! 🙂

Favorite quotes: “You’re David, James, and Charming? David’s like middle name?”

Leroy: “I’m not gonna jump!” Mary Margaret: “You’re not?” Leroy: “NO! Are you crazy? I could hit someone! You know how much damage I could do? I’m solidly built!”

(Leroy causes a power outage) Mary Margaret: “What are you doing?” Leroy: “I’m selling candles sister!”

Archie: “Well, let’s not panic. For all we know, it’s a precaution, right?”
Belle: “Well, he did say they’re working with the people who tried to destroy the town.”
Leroy: “Can we panic now?”

Archie: “Dr. Whale’s whipped everyone to a frenzy. They’re going to Regina’s house. They’re gonna kill her!”
Leroy: “Great. Let’s watch!”(I totally should not find that line funny… But the way he delivers it is just too great)

Snow: “You of all people should understand. You’ve lost love. What if your pain could be erased?”
Grumpy: “I don’t want my pain erased. As wretched as it is, I need my pain. It makes me who I am. It makes me Grumpy.”

Regina: “I think we know exactly who’s taking up residence in our castle. The Wicked Witch.”
Grumpy: “We talking east or west?”
Snow: “Does it matter? Neither one sounds good.”
Grumpy: “Well, one you drop a house on, The other you toss a bucket of water at”

Other thoughts: Grumpy’s backstory is adorable, just sayin’. In fact, he started out as Dreamy, but things happened in his life that made him Grumpy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

