Book Review – Rebekah’s Treasure

Forced to flee war-torn Jerusalem in 70 A.D. Rebekah and her husband, Ethan, each take something of value: Rebekah, the cup of the Last Supper; Ethan, a copper scroll detailing the whereabouts of a vast Temple treasure. Ahead, separation and danger face them as each tries to survive. But it’s not only external forces that could keep them apart forever but internal ones as they struggle to discover where their true treasure lies.

This is the first book I have received for review from a publisher, so I was excited to review it. The story sounded intriguing, and something about the cover drew me in. But alas, this book was not at all what I had hoped.

For starters, I need to point out that I NEVER stop reading a book less than halfway through. I will give it until the halfway point, and if the book does not work for me at that point, then I will stop. This is the first book I actually remember not reading to the halfway mark.

The book started off rather nicely, if a bit slow. I liked the prologue, though I felt it flowed a bit oddly. But as I worked through the first few chapters however, something about the book just didn’t seem… right? Even after giving the book some time to sit in my brain, I still can’t seem to place my finger on why I didn’t like it. One thing is definitely the speech. I know that this may not be a big deal to some people, but if I am reading a historical book, I want to read the way people actually talked back then. This book was not as bad as some I have read, but there were little phrases here and there that didn’t seem to fit the time period.

Another thing I felt was that the author had a bad habit of telling instead of showing. I don’t mind it here and there, but I felt like I was constantly being told things instead of shown them. It made the story feel a bit unprofessional. I did like the characters however, and if I had kept reading, I would have enjoyed learning more about them. This book was not the book for me, but I think less picky people will enjoy the story!

Despite the things I disliked about it, I think that the author did a very good job bringing ancient Jerusalem to life! I enjoyed learning a bit about the turmoil of the time period, and the struggles that many people went through in order to survive. And I loved the POV they used. First person, present tense, and it occasionally switched characters. Unique and a fascinating way to read something! If you are looking for a deep read and don’t mind slow pacing, then this is the book for you, but if you are looking for fast paced historical fiction, then you might want to look elsewhere.

I give this book a 2 out of 5 stars. I received this book for free from Heritage Publishers House through BookCrash for review. You can purchase the book at Amazon.com here: http://www.amazon.com/Rebekahs-Treasure-Sylvia-Bambola/dp/0989970744

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

