Countdown to Once Upon a Time – Doctor Whale/Doctor Frankenstein

From the start of the show, Doctor Whale was one of the most intriguing characters. His identity is not revealed until the second season, and I never guessed who he would turn out to be in the end. Doctor Whale is saddened by his past, by the remembrance of the things he did, and his story really truly is sad. On a quest to discover the secret to eternal life, Doctor Whale, whose real name is Victor Frankenstein, accidentally put his brother in danger. His brother was shot, and killed. But Victor brought him back using science, only for his resurrected brother to murder their father. In Storybrooke, Whale is haunted by his past, and turns to drinking to ease the pain, until Ruby reminds him of his purpose, in a scene that made me start shipping the two.

Name(s): Doctor Whale, Doctor Frankenstein, Victor

Characteristics: Stubborn, cynical, sometimes cruel, longs to be accepted, sad

Why do I like this character?: Despite his many flaws, and the times that he did the wrong thing, Doctor Whale turned out to be a good character. He even saves the life of a man who, if he survives, could destroy Storybrooke.

Why do I dislike this character?: Whale is prone to being a bit rude at times. And during the curse, he had a reputation as a womanizer. :/ After the curse, he leads a mob to kill Regina, only stopped just in time by Charming.

Favorite quotes: “I wanted my name to stand for life. But everybody just thinks it’s the name of a monster. I guess they’re right about that. Rumplestiltskin says that… magic has a price. But from where I’m sitting, seems that science does, too.”

“Thank you. Monster to monster.”

“Don’t look at me. I’m a doctor, not a vet.”

Other thoughts: Whale is character I would like to see more of in the future! I definitely ship him and Ruby; I like to call the ship “Doctor Wolf”. I would also like to find out more about his childhood, something that would help him become an easier to understand character.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

