Thought for the Week – Forgiveness

This has not been one of my better days. I woke up this morning and was going about my business, when I came across something that, for a moment, made me see red. I was made aware that someone had written a blog post “about” me, so to speak. Why did it make me angry? Well, the post didn’t exactly bully or call me terrible names, but there were some things said about me that hurt. Unfortunately, I cannot say the reason that the words hurt so much, due to circumstances, but I can say that after my anger passed, all I felt was hurt in my heart and sorrow for the person who wrote the blog. Of course, the blog post isn’t the only thing in the situation that upset me, which makes it a lot harder to do the right thing and forgive.

When I read, and after I read, the post, I went through three different emotions. Anger, hurt, and sorrow.

Anger, because of the words said, the way they were said, and the person who wrote them. I was so angry I actually thought I was going to be sick. To be honest, I wouldn’t have been half as mad if this person had said their opinions to my face. This is the most dangerous emotional stage, because people, myself included, have a tendency to let their anger lead them to do the wrong thing. Most people’s first instinct is to confront the person, disparage them in front of others or on social media, or to lash out in other negative ways. I struggled to keep my emotions in check through my anger.

Hurt, because of certain factors in the situation. Again, circumstances prevent specifics. But let’s just say that I have been dealing with hurt the last few weeks that I have never felt before. I was hurting, both emotionally, and in some ways physically. My heart was literally hurting. Again, I had to be careful. When I am hurting, I have a tendency to shrink a bit, and get depressed. I had church today, I was singing in the choir and attending Sunday School, and I knew that I needed to focus on God. And that was a good thing, because that led me away from thinking about myself.

Sorrow, for the person who wrote the post. How sad their life must be that they feel the need to disparage others and mock their beliefs, and leave my name out there for all to see. I realized that I needed to stop thinking about myself and focus on forgiveness. I have discovered that the first step to forgiving people who hurt you is praying for them. When you pray for that person, you also understand that circumstances are not all what they seem.

Now, I am just working on trusting God, and allowing Him to work through me. The Bible says that “All things work together for the good of those who love God”. This situation will turn out to be good in the end. In fact, it is already getting better. I went to church and was able to fellowship with a couple of wonderful friends, who I trust completely. Just being with them was enough to help me work through my feelings and be grateful for the blessings in life, such as true friendships, love, and the fellowship of other believers.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brett Jonas (@BookSquirt)
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 16:31:00

    I’m so sorry to hear that happened! It’s never fun when people are mean to you. 😦

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Sep 22, 2014 @ 16:05:45

    Praying for both you, and the other person 😦

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

