Doctor Who Episode Review – “Mummy on the Orient Express”

After last weeks excellent episode, and the emotional ending of said episode, I was eager to see what appeared to be the Doctor’s first Clara-less adventure this season. But, fortunately, Clara was in this episode, taking one last trip with the Doctor as a “last hurrah” before she leaves him. Of course, she hopes that this will be one adventure without any crazy alien murderers, death, and overall stupidity from the Doctor. And, as expected, her hopes are in vain. What follows is a great filler episode that delivers some chills and thrills, and also turned out to be a different ending than expected.

Like I said, this episode is a good filler. That isn’t to say that it doesn’t fit well into the arc, but it doesn’t have the same emotional punches that other episodes have had so far. I did enjoy the 20’s themed atmosphere; Clara rocked that dress! And I enjoyed Maisey’s character very much. In fact, she was the only side character that I liked. Most of the others fell flat in my opinion. I did enjoy the mummy, a very impressive effect on part of the production team.

Sadly, in the end, there is little to be said of this episode. After three weeks of episodes that I enjoyed, I found that this episode fell short. I did question Clara’s decision at the end, but I loved how supportive Danny is of her. In terms of content, this episode was very clean, the worst being a bit of cussing here and there.

So if you are bored and looking for a non-linear episode to watch, this one will be a good time filler, and a nice scare, but little more. I hope that Moffat isn’t falling back after the last few episodes.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

