Thought for the Week – Your Calling

Everyone has a calling. Whether it is for a career, a certain ministry, or a simple way of life, everyone is called to something. Sadly, most Christian teens, and many Christians in general, have no idea what their calling is because they have not actively sought out God’s will for their lives.

When we ask God to show us what He is calling us to do, the answer may not come immediately, and sometimes your calling is not always what it first appears. It took me several years to find that God was calling me to become a journalist and spread his word through that career, and who knows? I may discover an even deeper calling in that regard. And you might not think that knowing what you are called to do is a big deal, but it is. When you know what God’s desire for you is, you can do the work He has called you to do in the best way possible.

Does that mean you have to have a solid plan for your life? Nope. No one knows what the future holds. It simply means being aware of God’s guidance, and asking Him to show you the right way to go when you are faced with big decisions. And as a teen, knowing that God can show me the way is a big deal, as I am faced with tons of decisions. What college should I go to? What career should I study? And in a few years, I might be faced with the question of “Should I be with this person? Is this the man you intend for me to spend the rest of my life with?”

I hope that you will take time to listen for God’s voice as you make decisions in your life, and discover what He has called you to do.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

