Book Review – “Daughter of Highland Hall” by Carrie Turansky

Strong-willed and beautiful, debutante Katherine Ramsey feels ready to take the London social season by storm, and she must. Her family estate, Highland Hall, has been passed to older male cousin Sir William Ramsey, and her only means of securing her future is to make a strong debut and find a proper husband. With her all-knowing and meddling aunt as a guide, Katherine is certain to attract suitors at the lavish gatherings, sparkling with Great Britain’s elite.

When a shocking family scandal sidelines Katherine, forcing her out of the social spotlight, she keeps a low profile, volunteering with the poor in London’s East End. Here Katherine feels free from her predictable future, and even more so as a friendship with medical student Jonathan Foster deepens and her faith in God grows. But when Katherine is courted anew by a man of wealth and position, dreams of the life she always thought she wanted surface again. Torn between tradition and the stirrings in her heart for a different path, she must decide whom she can trust and love—and if she will choose a life serving others over one where she is served. 

After reading “Governess of Highland Hall”, the first in the Broadmoor Legacy series, I just knew that I had to read this second book! I was intrigued by Katherine’s character in the first book, so I was excited to see that this one was centered around her character! The first book was excellent, and this one did not disappoint.
At first, one might feel inclines to dislike Kathrine. I mean, she seems REALLY self-centered when you first read about her, and she is that way when this book starts out. But the reason I liked her was because I saw that underneath that outward appearance of selfishness lay a desire for something more, and that is the basis for the story. The new wife of her cousin William has a brother, who comes to visit, Jonathan. He has a heart for God, and I loved how Katherine was drawn to that. I thought her journey through the book was incredible, and the fact that she doesn’t just come to faith in order to please Jonathan. I related to her on a deep level, perhaps because, like me, Katherine often struggles with meeting the high expectations set upon her by society.
Jonathan was a great character, especially as love interests go. I had so much respect for him, particularly how he kept his distance so he could honor his commitment to God. He understood that he could not be “unequally yoked”, as the Bible says, but still continued to encourage Katherine as a friend. And his passion for the lost and needy was touching. I liked how, despite their very different backgrounds, he and Katherine connected on a deep level.
The side characters were good, though there were a couple I was not particularly fond of. Julia and William, the central characters of the first book, were every bit as committed here. Penny was a fun character, but I wish she had more time in the story. I hope the next book is about her. The two characters that I hated were: Louisa, Katherine’s overbearing Aunt who is just plain rude, and David, Katherine’s other cousin who has loose morals, is a flirt, and is generally unlikable. I felt a little for him by the end of the book, but I still didn’t like him very much.
The book was pretty good content wise. A few kisses, falling in love, etc, and some implied mentions of “women of ill repute” as you might say. There was some violence, particularly a man who beats his wife and attacks Katherine.
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed “Daughter of Highland Hall”. I loved the characters, the story, and the message, and I recommend the book to 15 and up! I cannot wait for the next book in the series!

(I received this book for free from the publisher for my honest review)

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

