Once Upon a Time Episode Review – “Smash the Mirror”

I eagerly anticipated this week’s episode, as we were given the gift a TWO PART episode instead of just a regular 45 minute runtime. I couldn’t imagine what they had in store that would require two hours, and my wait was made worse when I couldn’t watch it on Sunday night. But on Monday evening, my mom and I sat down to enjoy the episode, and it was well worth the wait.

I will start out with a cautionary bit: This episode had one part that sincerely bothered me, and it threaded throughout the episode and kind of left a bitter taste in it’s wake. As we fans know, Regina and Robin Hood are in love, but are kept apart by the fact that Marian is alive (though she is frozen into a icicle currently). Unfortunately, Robin tossed honor aside for a night of passion with Regina, and the two… ahem… “did the do” as I like to say. And Regina feels somewhat guilty, and has a nice, honest to goodness heart to heart with Snow, who seems to brush aside the fact that Marian is dying, and tells Regina about hope, love, and such. It just disturbed me that the writers thought it was ok. It was one thing with Snow and Charming because Charming wasn’t really married and they were actually married (they just didn’t know it, though I still disagreed with that too), but for Robin to toss aside his dying wife that way seriously bothered me, and I hope the writers will do better with his character in future.

Ok, back to the review. The entire episode was a crazy roller coaster of amazing-feelsy-awesomeness. We found out a bit about the fates of Anna and Kristoff, and how Elsa got trapped in the urn. We also learned how the Snow queen reached our world. That backstory was great, particularly when Anna found “Icicle” Hans in a closet. xD But it had a sad ending, and I felt terrible for Elsa, Anna, and pretty much everyone (except Ingrid, I don’t feel bad for her in the least).

In Storybrooke, Emma is still struggling to control her powers after last week’s craziness. Henry tries to help her, but she accidentally hurts him. The look on Emma’s face when she did that broke my heart. And I wanted to smack some sense into her when she went to Mr. Gold for help. Like: “Yeah, great idea Emma! Go to the guy who is betraying his wife, you, and Hook for help getting rid of your magic! Sounds like a solid plan!” (Though she doesn’t really know he’s lying…) And this is where it got crazy. Gold tells her that he can help her, but alarm bells went off in my head when he told her that they would have to go to the edge of town to do it. It is obvious that he wants to use the hat without anyone seeing. Oh, and we are still trying to figure out what he needs as the final ingredient in the spell using the hat.

Emma calls her family to tell them that she is going to be ok, but Hook is immediately freaked out. He calls Emma and begs her to call him. He is so scared for her, and I want to give Colin a big thumbs up for the phenomenal acting he has done. Oh, and did I mention the Snow queen was trapped by Rumple so that she couldn’t stop him? This was the one time I was rooting for her to actually succeed in doing something.

I won’t say too much more at risk of spoiling everything, but I will tell you two things! 1: Hook is totally dead at this point. As it turns out, the final ingredient that Rumple needs is the heart of someone who knew him before he became the Dark One. And as it happens, Hook is the only person left alive who fits that profile. I cried when Rumple tore out his heart, but was even more sad when he didn’t kill Hook immediately. Why? Because now, with Hook’s heart, Rumple can control him, and make him do whatever he needs to get all the magic needed to power up the hat. And the second thing? Well, the Snow Queen has cast that dreaded “Spell of shattered sight”. Yup. Things are not looking good for Storybrooke currently. And to make it worse, we get no new episode next week. It’s really a bummer, because Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is not coming on next week either! And since Doctor Who is off until Christmas, I will have to content myself with an episode of Murdoch Mysteries. xD Stay Nerdy everyone!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

