Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Episode Review – “The Things We Bury”

After seeing the promo for this week’s episode, I was genuinely nervous. What the team finds could cost an agent his life? Uh, I DON’T THINK SO!!!!!!! And while I didn’t enjoy this episode as much as previous ones (for reasons that will be mentioned later), this was still an episode that had me on the edge of my set. My lips were chapped by the time I was done because I was biting on them so much!

This episode definitely stood as a little more of a filler episode, but it still worked very well. Ward reunites with his big brother (who I actually felt some pity for. He didn’t seem like that bad of a guy), and promptly… Well, nevermind, spoilers. Coulson, Skye, Tripp, and Fitz are on a quest to find the strange city that the existence of was discovered in last week’s episode. And I just have to say, seeing Fitz being a little bit like himself again was amazing! πŸ™‚ I was very pleased with his development. And back at the base, Bobbi interrogates a hostage left by Ward, they discover a startling (and rather gross) truth about Daniel Whitehall, Mac begins to question whether or not Coulson is mentally sound, and Jemma fangirls over agent Peggy Carter. Yup, there was a lot going on in this episode. And did I mention that Skye’s father and Coulson come face to face?

I generally enjoyed the episode, though I am a bit unhappy with Mac. The way he is spreading doubts about Coulson really bothered me. But I LOVED Jemma. Her reaction to finding a file signed by Peggy Carter was pretty much how every fangirl reacts to anything fandom related. xD And I wanted to scream when Skye’s father once again said “THAT ISN’T HER NAME!!!” I wanted to scream “WHAT IS HER NAME THEN????” He is obviously a bit off in the head. And other rocking things? Well, we finally know what the strange blue alien that was used to make the lifesaving serum is. It is called a Kree. I haven’t read the comics, but I did some reading, and it appears that Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is setting up for “Inhumans”, a MARVEL film that is supposed to come out within the next 4 years.

Now, unfortunately, I have to have a rare paragraph with a MAJOR warning about the content of an episode. There have been some questionable things in the first season of this show in terms of sexual content, but it was rare. And the violence has been relatively tame in terms of actual blood. Well, we were treated to both sexual content AND violence in this episode. Sex comes in when Bobbi and Lance have an argument concerning the way they feel about each other (keeping in mind that they were married before), and it ends with very… *ahem* passionate kissing and them climbing into the van. And when I say passionate, I mean a bit steamy to be shown in a Hallmark movie. πŸ˜› When it comes to violence: The truth about Daniel Whitehall was that he discovered a woman who wasn’t harmed by the Obelisk back in the 40s. He planned to experiment on her, but was captured by the SSR. When he was released 40 years later, he found the woman again, untouched by time. And this time, he did more than just experiment. He cut her open and took everything he could from her body, and the scene, while not the most graphic thing I have ever seen, was said by some to be the most graphic thing ever shown in the MARVEL Universe. Fortunately I saw it coming and was able to look away, but I am hoping that this isn’t a sign of more to come. Oh, and that woman? She was Skye’s mother. And Skye’s father knew that it was Whitehall who killed her. And now he’s working for Whitehall. So what do we think he wants with Whitehall? Any thoughts? XD

Despite the content issues, this proved to be a strong episode overall, one of the highlights being flashbacks with Peggy Carter! And week after next is going to be mid-season finale. So I think we are in for a wild ride!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

