Book Review – “A Love Undone” by Cindy Woodsmall

At nineteen years old, Old Order Amish Jolene Keim was on the brink of happily-ever-after when everything changed, stealing the future she expected and burdening her with an unbearable decision. For the next ten years, Jolene throws herself into family life—and then she meets Andy Fisher. The horse trainer and father to a sweet nine year-old challenges her and holds up a mirror to issues Jolene has been unwilling to face.
 
Andy is cautious about his deepening friendship with Jolene, but he believes she knows the truth about him – that he is a grass widower. As a man whose wife has abandoned him six years past, he is unable to divorce or remarry according to the Amish ways. Andy has wrestled with God concerning his reality, and he had found peace with the solitary future facing him…until he met Jolene.
 
As Andy and Jolene find themselves confronted by difficult choices, will they trust in God’s guidance—or will the allure of their deepening friendship only lead to further temptation?

In the past, I have thoroughly enjoyed the work of Mrs. Woodsmall, particularly her Sisters of the Quilt series. I have always found it to be deep, well written, and interesting to read. But unfortunately that was not the case with this book, at least from my perspective.

I had a really hard time getting into this book. The first few chapters, while a nice introduction, just didn’t draw me in. But since I had gotten this book for the purpose of reviewing, I decided to give it one more chance and read several more chapters. But sadly, I still couldn’t enjoy this story. I rarely do not finish a book, especially one by such a great author, but I could not get halfway through this story.

Despite the slow plotline, I did like some of the characters. I particularly liked Hope and Ray. Jolene was also a good main character, and I felt for her struggles in taking care of her family. I actually didn’t like Andy much at all. Something about him just turned me off. He seemed a bit selfish and rude, and I didn’t like the way he treated Jolene.

I honestly can’t say what it was about this book that I didn’t like. And perhaps in the future I shall give it another try. And as life has been busy lately, perhaps I just need a faster paced book to provide an easier read, and my “to review” pile is stacking up. But for now, i unfortunately give “A Love Undone” two stars out of five.

(Note: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review)

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

