Book Review – “Steadfast Heart” by Tracie Peterson

Despite her spoiled upbringing, twenty-year-old Lenore Fulcher isn’t pretentious. She simply believes a marriage should be built on true love. Her father, however, thinks she’s wasted enough time searching for the perfect husband. He wants to marry her off to one of his business partners–who is seventeen years her senior–an idea that is out of the question for Lenore.

Kolbein Booth, a young lawyer from Chicago, arrives in Seattle looking for his headstrong sister, who he believes may have answered an advertisement for mail-order brides. Sick with worry, he storms into the Madison Bridal School, demanding to see his sister, only to learn she isn’t there. But Lenore Fulcher is, and something about her captures his attention.

Is this the man Lenore has been searching for? She may not have long to find out…

I had already tried reading another one of Tracy Peterson’s books from a review program, and was generally disappointed. I decided to give her another try with this book, but unfortunately, I liked this one even less. I couldn’t even finish this book because it failed to hold my interest.

However, I will start out with the positives. I did enjoy Lenore and Abrianna, her best friend. Lenore was thoughtful and kind, and I appreciated her strength of character and belief that marriage should be built on more than a business arrangement. And Abrianna was like my spirit animal. Awkward, a little hard to understand, but at heart a wonderful and charming person. I hope that the next book is about her. And the premise of the book was certainly interesting, though I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought it would.

However, I disliked Kolbein. I couldn’t really put finger on why, but as I read the book, I really disliked him. Maybe it was his impatience. But I just could not get behind his character.

And as I mentioned earlier, the plot failed to draw me in. I enjoyed the first few chapters, but by the time I was halfway through the book, I couldn’t read any further. I think part of the problem were the little subplots. They added unnecessary padding to the story, and I felt like the whole issue with Abrianna’s suitor could have been settled in a later book. The plot moved VERY slowly, and I felt like Mrs. Peterson could have cut out some of the padding to make it a bit easier to read.

Content-wise, I could find little fault with the story, outside of some mentions of murder and such. However, this did little to change my thoughts on the story. So unfortunately, I give this book 3 out of 5 stars, and recommend it to 16 and up.

*I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review*

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Follow Thoughts From a Nerdy Girl on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Countdown:

Once Upon a Time ReturnsSeptember 28th, 2014
I anxiously await the return of one of the most amazing shows on television!

Join these users!

The girl with the spoons

Thoughts on college life, chronic illness, and the events shaping the world

Rantings of a Blogger Chick

the title really says it all

Erithil, the One Moon

Overpowering The Darkness

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

